Caroline Mitchell was sworn in as the vice president of communication during Elon University’s Student Government Association April 20 business meeting, having previously served as a School of Communications senator. Twelve other senators or finance board members were also appointed during the meeting. 

The senate unanimously appointed the 13 members to SGA. Britt Mobley, student body president, appointed students for the positions of School of Communications senator, College of Arts and Sciences senators, class of 2025 senator, class of 2025 treasurer, class of 2024 senator and finance board members.

Mitchell shared her plans for the position, focusing on helping SGA match its branding with the university and improve interpersonal connections. Mitchell said it was important to her to develop a greater relationship with the rest of the student body and make sure people know what SGA does.

“I want them to feel that through the content and the events and everything that we do for the student body, I want them to feel like they can come up to us and really feel like they know us,” Mitchell said.

Also during the meeting, SGA passed a budget request for the Black Student Union. The request will fund its end of year party and totaled $11,774. The event will include performances by National Pan-Hellenic Council organizations, inflatables, mini golf, tabling and a food truck. 

Christina Carr, BSU president, said she expects between 200 to 300 people to attend the event. The main cost of the event is equipment for the performances, including the stage and audio equipment. BSU is also working in collaboration with the Student Union Board to help fund the event.

Class of 2026 Treasurer Noah Biggers was appointed to the role of parliamentarian. This role includes taking notes and calling roll during meetings. Chloe Higgins, speaker of the senate, appointed three senators to different committee chairs. Anya Bratic was appointed as One Phoenix Committee chair, Biggers as Student Inclusive Campus Committee chair and Selma Maric as Student Outreach Committee chair.