Dean of Students Jana Lynn Patterson gave campus-wide mental and physical health updates for the Elon community, on Sept. 1 during Elon University’s Student Government Association’s first business meeting of the 2022-23 academic year. During the meeting, three students were appointed to the Senate and three students were appointed into new roles.

According to Patterson, a major highlight for the 2022-23 school year will be developing greater visibility and centralized information around wellness and well-being program initiatives for Elon. Leading this charge, Patterson announced the creation of HealthEU — a new organization dedicated to providing mental health resources to students, faculty and staff.

“We had found that there were so many wonderful wellness and wellbeing things going on across the university, but they weren't centralized and they weren't in a place where people could easily find them,” Patterson said. “It really is a broad based effort to connect students, faculty and staff with necessary resources.”

Through a partnership with TimelyCare, Patterson said the university will be able to provide increased access to mental health and medical services. Through downloading the TimelyCare app or visiting, students can have access to 24/7 mental health support and on-demand scheduled medical visits. Through referral by counseling services, students can also have  licensed counselors and psychiatry services from anywhere in the country.

Patterson also said Vice President for Student Life Jon Dooley will elaborate on plans for a new Wellness Center on campus later in the fall semester.

Sophomore Clara Watkins was appointed chief of staff and senior Isaias Reyes-Martinez was appointed wellness and well-being director. Both Watkins and Reyes-Martinez were appointed through a unanimous vote. 

Senior Chase Solomon was appointed senior class senator, sophomore Amanda Jacobson was appointed health and sciences senator and junior Cavan O’Brien was appointed as Love School of Business senator, all by a unanimous vote.

Through the final unanimous vote of the night, Sophomore Class President Alexa Morrissey was appointed assistant vice president of communications.

SGA will be hosting a town hall event open to the student body Sept. 8 at 7:30 p.m.